Three Concertos: Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev & Ireland

Trace the evolution of the piano concerto, from a much-loved classic to a bold British work, at a performance by Royal College of Music musicians.

Thursday 7 May 2020 at 7:30 pm
Queen Elizabeth Hall
Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX

Image result for southbank

Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto has secured its place as one of the best-known pieces for piano and orchestra. Its awe-inspiring opening chords have been used to dramatic effect on screen, in Harold and Maude and Rob Reiner’s chilling adaptation of Stephen King’s Misery. Prokofiev’s highly virtuosic third concerto sparkles with lyricism, variation and colour. The work inspired a response from English impressionist composer John Ireland: his only piano concerto buzzes with life, and ushered in a new period of creativity for the composer.

Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra
Martin André conductor
Avi Taler conductor
Rustam Khanmurzin piano
Dmitrii Kalashnikov piano
Jun Lin Wu piano
John Ireland: Piano Concerto in E flat
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3

Tickets £5 – £20, booking fee: £3.50 (members £0.00)
Consessions 25% off (limited availability)

For more information please see the official page or use Contact form